Shasta College

About Us

Shasta College, founded in 1948 is part of the Shasta-Tehama-Trinity Joint Community College District.  The district serves residents in Shasta, Tehama, and Trinity Counties, including parts of Lassen, Modoc and Humboldt Counties — an area that is more than 10,000 square miles.

The campus was originally a fur and trading center of the Wintu Indians, later owned by a soldier and his family after the Mexican-American War. In 1964, voters approved a bond issue for construction of a 337-acre campus at the main campus location.

Because of the diversified goals and needs of its students, the college offers a wide range of programs and services, including counseling, tutoring, financial aid, performing arts and athletic events, student activities, veterans’ services, cultural events, lecture series, workshops, and art exhibits.

The college offers many courses on the Internet and through Interactive Television (ITV). It also offers instruction and student services at the Downtown Campus, Intermountain Campus, Tehama Campus, and Trinity Campus with each location using ITV and computer assisted learning to supplement on site courses.

The college has articulation agreements to facilitate transfer to the University of California and California State University systems, and many private college campuses.

Chart --  Shasta College Student Demographic Details by Age Groups

Pie Chart image: Shasta College Student Demographic -- Ethnicity

Gender % -- 2012-13
Female 57.7%
Male 41.7%
Undeclared 0.7%

Total annual transfers to UC
(2004 to 2009)

Shasta College transfers to University of California graph from 2004 to 2009
Total annual transfers to CSU
(2004 to 2009)

 Shasta College  to California State University Transfers Graph from 2004 to 2009

Degrees and Certificates
Awarded in
Associate in Arts for Transfer (A.A.-T) Degree 8
Associate in Science for Transfer (A.S.-T) Degree 18
Associate of Arts (A.A.) degree 357
Associate of Science (A.S.) degree 357
Certificate requiring 18 to < 30 semester units 39
Certificate requiring 30 to < 60 semester units 51