PRESS RELEASE June 8, 2016

Paige Marlatt Dorr
Office: 916.327.5356
Cell: 916.601.8005
Office E-mail:

California Community Colleges Expands Guaranteed Transfer Agreement with Historically Black

Colleges and Universities

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – The California Community Colleges has expanded its guaranteed transfer agreement with historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) to include an additional 12 schools. In March 2015, the California Community Colleges Board of Governors signed the initial agreement with the leaders of nine HBCUs, guaranteeing admission for California community college students who meet certain academic criteria admission. The California Community Colleges is the only statewide community college system to have a transfer agreement of this kind with HBCUs.

“The expansion of this historic agreement creates a tremendous opportunity for our students,” said California Community Colleges Interim Chancellor Erik E. Skinner. “HBCUs have a reputation for being among the finest and most culturally diverse institutions of higher learning in the nation. We’re thrilled we can expand the pathway for students to embrace all these historic schools have to offer.”
The new HBCUs participating in the agreement are:

Bethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach, FL

Central State University in Wilberforce, OH

Clark Atlanta University in Atlanta, GA

Edward Waters College in Jacksonville, FL

Florida Memorial University in Miami Gardens, FL

Grambling State University in Grambling, LA

Huston-Tillotson University in Austin, TX

Kentucky State University in Frankfort, KY

Lane College in Jackson, TN

Lincoln University of Pennsylvania in Oxford, PA

Tougaloo College in Tougaloo, MS

West Virginia State University in Institute, WV

Under the agreement, students who apply to the schools and obtain a transfer-level associate degree with a GPA of 2.5 or higher and complete either the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (accepted at both the University of California and California State University), or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern, will be guaranteed admission with junior standing. Students are also guaranteed admission by earning an
Associate Degree for Transfer or by completing 30 or more CSU or UC transferrable units with a GPA of 2.5 or higher.


HBCUs were founded to serve the higher education needs of African-American students, though they are open to all students. They are located mostly in the South and East Coast regions.
The nine HBCUs included in the inaugural agreement are:

Bennett College in Greensboro, N.C.

Dillard University in New Orleans, La.

Fisk University in Nashville, Tenn.

Lincoln University of Missouri in Jefferson City, Mo.

Philander Smith College in Little Rock, Ark.

Stillman College in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Talladega College in Talladega, Ala.

Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, Ala.

Wiley College in Marshall, Texas.

For more information on the guaranteed transfer agreement and all of the participating colleges and universities, please

The California Community Colleges is the largest system of higher education in the nation composed of 72 districts and 113 colleges serving 2.1 million students per year. Community colleges supply workforce training, basic skills education in English and math, and prepare students for transfer to four-year institutions. The Chancellor’s Office provides leadership, advocacy and support under the direction of the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges. For more information about the community colleges, please visit,, or